Spencer County Solid
                Waste District - Recycling Saves You Money
Welcome to Spencer
                        County Solid Waste Management District - Where
                        Recycling Saves You MoneyDrop Off
                          Locations for the Spencer County Solid Waste
                          DistrictTrash Disposal in
                          Spencer CountySpencer County Solid
                          Waste Management District Recycles and Saves
                          You MoneySpencer County
                          Solid Waste Management District - Spencer
                          County Large Item Collection FacilitySpencer County Solid
                          Waste Management District Recycles Household
                          Hazardous Waste and Saves You MoneySpecial
                          Recycling Programs in Spencer CountyBusiness
                          Recycling Programs in Spencer CountyYard Waste
                          Disposal and Composting in Spencer CountyRoad-Side
                          Litter Disposal in Spencer CountyBurning
                          Trash is Illegal in Spencer CountyArea
                          Landfills and Transfer Stations in Spencer
                          Recycling and Environmental LinksContact the Spencer
                          County Solid Waste Management District
Page seperator for Spencer County SWMD
Welcome to Spencer County Solid
Waste Management District (SWMD)

Who We Are

The Spencer County Solid Waste Management District was created in 1992 to establish environmental programs to encourage recycling and to divert solid waste in Spencer County, Indiana from landfills.
The District works to educate Spencer County residents and businesses with information on recycling program

What We Do

The Solid Waste District operates eight recycling drop-off centers in Spencer County with one center at Chrisney set up to accept large items. We may also have solutions for many special waste/disposal questions. The District provides educational materials for schools and waste audits for businesses
within the county.

Where We Are

District Business Office
918 E. County Road 800 N.
Chrisney, Indiana 47611

Phone: 812-362-7401            Office Hours:
Monday through Friday from 8:00am - 4:00pm.
Fax: 812-362-7650
E-mail @

District Documents & Reports

           Property Ordinance                        Burn Ordinance           

           District Handbook                           SB 131 2014



        Medicine Cabinet Cleanout Day           

                    Saturday, April 25, 2015

                             8:00 - 12:00

                Volunteer Fire Departments
                        Dale        Rockport   
                 Santa Claus        St. Meinrad


Phone book recycling - Perry Spencer Phone directories can be recycled with any school child. Send the books with the child to school and the school will receive a monetary reimbursement from PSCI Communications. Now until April 17th.

and Televisions can be recycled for free at this time.  Click on "Special Recycling Programs" button on left for the details.

2015 Board of Directors
Director: Deborah Steinkamp                                            President:  Jim Seiler, County Commissioner
Administrative Assistant: Alice Middleton                       Vice President:  Kelly Greulich, Santa Claus Council
Operations Manager: Gary Williams                                     AI Logsdon, County Commissioner
Truck Driver: Andrew Hermann                                             David Gogel, County Commissioner
Warehouse Assistants: Darrell Collins,                               Kim Litkenhus, Chrisney Town Council
Harold Fleischmann                                                               Mike Johannes, Santa Claus Council President
Site Attendants:  Jack Galbreath, J.C. Smith,                     Aaron Benton, County Council
Janie Wilson, John Elliott,  Bob Woolsey,                           Bruce Cissna, Board Attorney
Stephanie Allen, Charles HooferMike Stephens,
Stephen Boyd, Louie Elliott, Erwin Wagner,
Larry Scarbrough, Gilbert Weaver

Back to top

Spencer County SWMD, 918 E. County Road 800N, Chrisney, IN
Phone (812) 362-7401, FAX (812) 362-7650, E-Mail recycle@psci.net